Everything is better with mod podge

While sewing is my usual métier, I’ve been known to do some paper projects from time to time.  When you can’t bend your fingers because of all the glue and you’re just a little high off of modge-podge (they aren’t kidding about using it in a well-ventilated space), you know it’s been a good day.

So in the spirit of Things to Do Inside Because the Yard is Flooded, I thought I’d share a few paper-y projects I’ve done over the past few months.  (Ok, ok, some of them were, like, a year ago.  They’re still good projects.)

IMAG0838

Hmm… apparently it really was forever ago that I made this one, because my little guy definitely isn’t that little anymore.  But anyway, about a million years ago or so, I got a bee in my bonnet to make something with words to hang on the wall above our bed.  I’d had The Darkness’s “I Believe in a Thing Called Love” stuck in my head for weeks at that point, although the only words I knew were “I believe in a thing called love, just listen to the rhythm of my heart, there’s a chance we can make it now, blarga blarga blarga blarg blarg blarg – go YouTube it – you’ll see what I mean), so that was an obvious choice for the text.

I bought a big canvas (24″x36” I think) and started by tearing apart one of my old college literature books and mod-podging (it’s a verb now) the pages onto the canvas to give it some texture.  Iwasn’t too careful about keeping them perfectly smooth – if they bubbled up a little I just went with it.  It’s hard to see in the picture, but this step gave the final product a little something extra.  You could always skip it, though, and just paint the canvas.  I let the mod podge dry and then spray painted the whole thing blue.

I took some fabric I had on hand (a fat quarter’s worth, I think) and cut a gigantic heart out of it, which I used spray adhesive to attach (I wanted it to go on super smoothly, unlike the paper, and I was afraid if I painted mod podge on it it would wrinkle or stretch out).  Then I used stencils to cut the letters I wanted out of more pages from the textbook and painted a really thin layer of mod podge on the back of them to position them.  I was lazy about making straight lines, so each line is a little crooked (I just eyeballed it – apparently my eyeball isn’t straight), but oh well.  It makes me smile every time I see it.  (And it’s finally made me almost immune to getting the song stuck in my head.  Hah!)

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

My next project was for the kitchen.  Here was my inspiration for this one – I needed a huge canvas to hide the electrical panel that was not-so-subtly taking up a good chunk of the kitchen wall or else I would’ve bought the print, but again I used a 24″x36″ canvas.  This time instead of  using paper for the background, I just dry-brushed paint onto the canvas to make it kind of streaky.  (If you’re noticing that I have a thing for medium blues, you’re right.)  Then I took three different colors of tulle, cut circles in them using a dinner plate as a guide, and brushed craft glue onto them to secure them to the canvas Venn-diagram style.  Then I just used vinyl letters from the craft store to make my words and a little bit of baker’s string and a snip of fabric for my arrow.  I still get a kick out of this every time I walk into the kitchen.  Just wish I was clever enough to have come up with it.

IMAG1101

And finally, this one was a commissioned piece for a friend’s husband on their anniversary.  I just took a thrift store frame and cut out images from comic books, modge podging them to the frame and then going over the whole thing again with a couple layers of modge podge.  I’ve also done one of these with old sheet music that I turned into a cork board over my desk – they’re quick, fun, and super versatile.

So break out your modge podge, friends!  Just be sure to crack a window first.  🙂

Leave a Reply

