Coming Soon: Part 2!

Update!  All patterns are now available in our Etsy shop!

Happy Mothers’ Day!  Can I just be a little bit sentimental for a minute?  This is my second “official” mothers’ day (not counting the one when I was pregnant for Jack when I was technically a mother but hadn’t experienced any of the hard parts yet) and I’ve learned a lot in the 18 months that I’ve been a mom.  One of the major lessons I’ve taken away is that I really, really don’t do well being awakened at all hours of the night (I’m mean when I don’t get a decent night’s sleep), but also that those nights don’t really last that long in the grand scheme of things (hallelujah).

When Jack was just a couple months old, he and I were at the grocery store.  It was January or so and I was definitely feeling the winter blues.  Jack had had a hard night, I was frazzled, it was freezing cold, Jack was cranky despite being carried in the Moby wrap (which he usually loved) – I just wasn’t feeling it.  I was trying to load my groceries in the car without smashing Jack or falling over on the ice when a perfect stranger came up to me in the parking lot and said “Your baby is beautiful.  I can tell you’re a really good mom.”

I put Jack in his carseat, climbed in the car and cried.  I’m sure that lady had no idea how much I needed to hear that right then, but it meant the world to me.  So here’s my challenge to you this mothers’ day week.  When you notice a new mom out and about, just go up to her and tell her that she’s a great mom.  I guarantee that you will make her day.  Maybe even her week.

But that’s not really what I was planning to write about today.  My real purpose here is to give you a sneak peek of our second design: the Market Day Tunic.

0X1B4649

 

The Market Day Tunic was born from my obsession with 1. tunics and 2. tunics that don’t make me look like a dirty hippie.  I am blessed with what you might charitably call an hourglass figure (when I’m not preggo, that is) and what you might (less-charitably) call T&A.  I love to wear tunics, but I need some fitting so that I don’t look like a housefrau on a Hawaiian getaway.  Not that there’s anything wrong with being a home economist at a luau, but you get my drift.

Enter the Market Day.  We designed it with bust and waist darts in front and waist darts in the back for a flattering fit that skims the waist and hips without being constricting: my main criteria when tunic shopping.

0X1B4700

 

Since it drives me a little bit crazy to pay good money for a pattern that only has one “look”, we also included instructions for optional contrasting facings, which can be made in a coordinating fabric, as above, or in lace.  I used vintage lace for the cover shot, so we also included instructions for doing a partial lace facing as shown on the wheat-colored linen tunic.  The sleeves can be worn either straight, so that they fall at 3/4 length, or cuffed (another personal favorite) at elbow-length.

0X1B4556

 

 

I’m planning for this to be my go-to shirt this summer as my body readjusts to being a normal size after baby #2 is born.  It’s roomy enough to pull up to breastfeed, if that’s your thing these days.  I’m daydreaming of it in a flowy silk for date nights out and for about a million more in that delicious Robert Kaufman linen-rayon blend for everyday wear.  If I could get my hands on more Cocca tencel challis (please, please drop me a line if you find someone still stocking it) I would make about a million in that, too: that stuff is magic.  (Ok, not really a million – it’s expensive.  But I would definitely make at least one or two more.)

0X1B4675

 

Speaking of Mothers’ Day (and being in mom-mode these days) I get this stuck in my head every time I think about the tunic: To market, to market, to buy a fat pig!  Home again, home again, jiggity jig!

Now it’s stuck in your head, too.  You’re welcome.  🙂

-Elizabeth

 

All photo credit to Amy Schweizer

2 thoughts on “Coming Soon: Part 2!

  1. Pingback: Quilt Market Spring 2014 Recap #1 | Snapdragon Studios

  2. Pingback: Tutorial: the Market Day Tunic as a dress | Snapdragon Studios

Leave a Reply

