Quilt Market Spring 2014 Recap #1

It has been a whirlwind week for us.  We’re in the very final stages of wrapping up our patterns and getting ready to release them (last things on the to-do list: finish tweaking the covers and finalize formatting on the instructions pages, then they’re ready to go!), and in the midst of all that excitement we were at International Quilt Market in Pittsburgh last weekend promoting Snapdragon Studios.

This was my first Quilt Market, so I’ll be honest – I felt like a babe in the woods most of the time we were there.  It was totally humbling to see all of the talent on display.  Kim will be here Friday to show off some of our favorite booths and a few of the totally gorgeous fabric lines that are coming out this summer and fall, so I’ll just give you a taste of what our experience was at QM this year.

DSCN0121

 

This is a view of a little less than half of the show floor, and we must have walked up and down every one of those aisles over a dozen times.  I really wish I would’ve brought a pedometer – we definitely got our exercise in this weekend.  The funny thing was that when we were doing our final walk-through Sunday morning before heading home, there were still booths it seemed like I hadn’t noticed the other times through.  There’s just so much eye-candy it’s hard to take it all in.  I was happy that we were there as “industry professionals” and that it wasn’t my job to choose between all of the gorgeous fabric lines to decide what to carry in a shop.  We finished each day sitting on beanbags in the “Relax and Recharge” lounge, which looked out over the river – I definitely needed to focus my eyes on something less colorful and farther away than all of the quilts we saw on the show floor.  My poor retinas got tired and I wasn’t even in meetings with sales reps looking at samples all day.  I don’t know how shop owners do it!

DSCN0076

 

One of the things I liked best about QM was the chance to meet some of the bloggers and designers I admire in real life.  Allison Harris of Cluck Cluck Sew was there introducing her new fabric line, Oh Clementine, with Windham Fabrics and it was so much fun to chat with her since I’ve been following her blog for years now.  I’m going to use two of her quilt patterns for the quilt giveaway we’re planning this summer (more on that soon, I promise!), so it was great to meet her and make friends.  Aren’t her quilts gorgeous?

Also, do you recognize the tunic I’m sporting?  I was juuuust able to squeeze my baby belly into it for day one of Quilt Market.  I haven’t tried it on since we got back, but at the rate this baby is growing I doubt I’d be able to wear it this weekend.  🙂

 

DSCN0073

 

Another new friend is Jen Fox of Jen Fox Studios.  She just released a fabric line with P&B Textiles called Nomad that I’m really loving.  She also designs handbag patterns that are super cute – I especially like her Sunburst Sling (pictured at the far left above).  Her booth was one of my favorites – very clean and modern looking but with just the right touches of color.

I could go on and on about my favorite booths and fabric lines, but I’ll leave you with a few pictures of different things that caught my eye instead:

DSCN0103

 

I’m a little bit obsessed with the Petals pattern from Tiny Seamstress Designs.  See those nifty baskets on the floor under the table and the sweet garland?  Those are the Petals bags, and, better still, the pattern also includes these snazzy flowers:

DSCN0102

 

Cool?  So cool.

DSCN0139

 

I saw a couple different versions of this tent at market, and each time I was tempted to curl up in it and take a siesta.  This one was in the Monaluna booth to show off their Under the Sea line (which is so freaking cute, by the way).  Doesn’t it look like the perfect hideaway?  We couldn’t help nuzzling some of their gorgeous knits while we were there.  It’s so exciting that more fabric companies are offering a wider range of garment fabrics – we saw a lot of them this weekend.  I love it.

DSCN0143

 

These sassy flowers were in the Birch booth and I wanted to take them all home despite the fact that they would take up my entire house.  Aren’t they fun?

DSCN0145

 

Finally, I was a little bit obsessed with American Made Brand‘s booth with Clothworks.  As the name suggests, American Made cloth is manufactured and dyed in the U.S., but not only that – all of their cotton is American, too, so the whole process takes place right here at home.  Isn’t that cool?  It does my little granola-eating, tree-hugging heart good.

It’s back to the grindstone for me as we finish up our website and finalize the patterns, but Quilt Market was a great experience (even if I feel like I need to sleep for a week now that it’s over) and we made some fantastic contacts and new friends while we were there.  Thanks for having us, Pittsburgh!

-Elizabeth

 

One thought on “Quilt Market Spring 2014 Recap #1

  1. Pingback: Snapdragon Studios Market Day Tunic | Fa Sew La

Leave a Reply

