In the kitchen

A quick and simple idea to make your weekend taste like summertime: make sun tea.

I use an old glass lemonade bottle and about 5-6 tea bags (this makes the tea pretty strong, so I usually add a splash of water and lots of ice when I serve it).  I also use 5-6 tea bags if I use my 1 liter pitcher, which makes the tea normal-strength.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Just add the tea bags to cold tap water, set the jar in a sunny window and give it a few hours or, better yet, all day.  My current favorite combination is 4 bags of Tazo Zen (green tea with lemongrass and mint) with two mint tea bags, sweetened after it brews with a few tablespoons of honey, but you also can’t go wrong with good old black tea.

Happy summertime!
-Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

