The List

Jack has been really into the Frog and Toad stories by Arthur Lobel lately.  We have a collection of them, and one of the stories in the collection is called “The List”.  In case you’re not familiar with the story, the gist of it is that Toad wakes up in the morning and decides to make a list of all the things he’ll do that day.  He (wisely, in my opinion) includes things like “wake up”, “get dressed”, “eat breakfast” that are easily crossed off, and only then moves on to “go to Frog’s house”, “take walk with Frog”… and so on.  While he is walking with Frog, a gust of wind blows his list away, and when Frog suggests chasing it Toad wails that he can’t, because chasing the list was not on his list of things to do today.

I’m totally with Toad on this one.  I live by my lists, and while I always end up doing things that aren’t on my list (or more likely, adding more things to my list as the day goes on), it’s nice to start the day off with one.  I like to see what is on other people’s lists, so just in case you’re nosey and have sympathetic list-making OCD like I do, here’s what my list looks like these days (in no particular order):

100_1876.jpg edited

 

*Finish tops for quilts (Don’t forget to keep watching for the giveaway in the next few weeks!)

*Arrange to have them quilted

*Wash bassinet bedding/ wipe down bassinet (make new sheet for it?)

*Get infant carseat out of the garage and wash cover

*Clean out car/ swiffer it (I drive an Element – the car you can mop.  So great.)

*Install carseat

*Reorganize closet/ put away stuff in bedroom that has been sitting by my side of the bed for ages so the bassinet can go there.

*Upload pictures to Snapdragon albums on Facebook, Pinterest and Flickr (links to come when I get to this)

*Choose and order materials for Snapdragon press packets

*Order mailing envelopes for Snapdragon print patterns (coming in three weeks! Just like the baby!  Yikes!)

*Make girl and boy newborn outfits (rompers?) for first picture

*Clean house

 

The real trouble is that what I want to be doing right now is sitting on my daybed in a pristine house finishing Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret.  If you’re looking for a great summer read, I highly recommend it.

What’s on your list these days?  Doesn’t it feel awesome to cross stuff off?  I’ve been known to put something on the list that I’ve already done just so that I can check it off immediately.  🙂

-Elizabeth

4 thoughts on “The List

Leave a Reply

