On my nightstand

Ok, so I read this one so fast that it didn’t even make it onto my nightstand, but that’s what I named the series, so that’s what it’ll be.  I started and finished Molly Wizenberg’s Delancey yesterday while Paul was helping my sister’s boyfriend with his broken down car.  Jack wanted to play outside, Samuel didn’t want to be put down, so what was I to do except sit on the patio and read?  I ask you.

download

 

Delancey was everything I liked about Wizenberg’s first book, A Homemade Life, plus small business ownership, which I’m obviously interested in now.  I’ve been a long-time reader of Molly’s blog [can I call her Molly?  I feel like I know her, so that counts, right?] Orangette and the thing I like best about it (aside from the wonderful recipes) is that she is wonderful at sharing just enough of her life that it feels like a friend’s blog without oversharing and veering into free therapy territory.

When her husband Brandon decided to open a pizza restaurant Molly was supportive in that “sure, honey, whatever will make you happy” kind of way because she didn’t really expect it to happen.  Once it was happening and did happen, she had to work out what it would mean for her life, her marriage, and their relationship.  Luckily she decided that Brandon was worth the effort and the changes and together they created what sounds like an awesome pizzaria.  Now I’m not only craving pizza AND the rice pudding recipe she included, but I’m also saving my pennies for a trip to Seattle.

Delancey was a great read: quick, honest, straightforward and perfect for a late-summer’s afternoon.  Loved it.

-Elizabeth

P.S.  I love to talk books – here are some others I’ve read this summer.  Comment if you want to discuss any of them.  I’m so game.

The Picture of Dorian Grey, Oscar Wilde (obviously Wilde intended this to be a Thinking Book.  I enjoyed the prose, but it could’ve been about half as long and just as effective.)

Cuckoo’s Calling, Robert Galbraith [aka J.K. Rowling] (Classic hardboiled detective stuff.  Enjoyed it enough to read it while I was in [unmedicated] labor for Samuel.)

The Silkworm, Robert Galbraith (Fun, but creepy)

The Fever, Megan Abbot (eh)

The Skeleton Crew, Deborah Halber (about amateur sleuths searching for missing persons/ identifying unidentified bodies – a hobby that couldn’t have existed before the internet)

 

Leave a Reply

