where we wrap up this edition of “top 10”

we’ve so enjoyed getting to know some our favorite bloggers/designers just a bit better these past few weeks through our “top 10” interviews.  we hope you’ve enjoyed it as much as we have!

today is our final installment…at least for a while.  and we bring you Melissa of mellysews.  this lady is amazing….she designs and teaches an awesome online design class.  i’ll let her speak for herself.

headshot-700x500[1]

On the Business end of things:

  1. What has been your greatest professional challenge and how has it affected you and your business?

    I think, like most busy women, the greatest challenge is finding a good work/life balance. It’s a day to day adjustment.

  1. Who or what has been your greatest inspiration?  And your biggest distraction?

    My kids are what started me down this path, and they’re also the biggest distraction from work!

  1. What has been the most surprising outcome of your creative journey?

    The other people I’ve gotten to meet – there are amazing, kind, generous and wonderful people in the sewing community.

  1. Is there one project that will always hold a place in your heart? Why?

    I think my first pattern, the Basic Blazer, will always be special. My boys look so cute in them, even now, but seeing the pictures of them as toddlers in blazers is cuteness overload.

  1. What’s next?  Where do you hope to be in 5 years? 10 years?

    More patterns are coming out in paper, and from there, who knows? Books, magazines, TV and video – it’s all on the table.

And of a personal nature:

  1. What’s your favorite way to spend a day off?  Any guilty indulgences?

    If I could be anywhere on a day off, it would be on the beach. But since I’m in the middle of Texas, a usual day off includes going somewhere with the family and hanging out, preferably with good food involved.

  1. Where would you travel if you had no restrictions on time and money?

    Everywhere! We have a family travel bucket list we’re slowly making our way through.

  1. How to you balance work/home/family/everyday life?  How does your family deal with all the demands on your time?

    Well, it’s a lot easier now that my older son is in school and my younger goes to preschool. I try to do a lot of my work while they’re out of the house. And for a month in the summer my husband is home from teaching/coaching, so during that time he keeps the kids out of my hair while I cram in a summer’s worth of work, because come July he’s back to work and I’m on my own with the kids until school starts back up.

  1. What’s a typical “day in the life” for you?  Are you a morning person or a night owl, all work before play?

    Typically I go for a run after coffee or after dropping my older son at school. Then I try to clean my email inbox, and then tackle the to-do list I’ve made for the day. Usually this is computer work, followed by sewing in the late afternoon after I pick the boys up from school. Then it’s a break for dinner time, and often I take my laptop with me to write posts while I sit on the couch with my husband watching TV.

  1. What’s your favorite rant?  What’s your soapbox?

    I don’t like people who think the textbook “right” way is the only way to sew or design and disparage others who do things differently. I think it’s limiting if you discourage other sewists because they can’t yet master (or don’t know) the “right” technique. That being said, some of the “right” ways of doing things are considered that for a reason, so I think it’s great to share and explain those techniques, but also to realize that quickie techniques are often just as valid and useful to know.

And a little Extra Credit:

1.    kim’s favorite!!!  Sum up your life in 6 words

            I loved and learned every day.

2.    What is your most hated chore, and how do you handle accomplishing it?

            Dishes…and for the most part the boys in my house take care of those 🙂

3.    TP….roll over the top or from the bottom?

             Top. Obviously.

thanks for playing along Melissa!!  I happen to LOVE your answer to personal #5.

have a wonderful weekend everyone

 

One thought on “where we wrap up this edition of “top 10”

  1. Pingback: Uncle Sam-style Blank Slate Patterns Basic Blazer | Snapdragon Studios

Leave a Reply

