Handmade

Kim is not the only one who is getting the fidgety-twitches as the holidays are approaching.  I spent a good hour or more this week compiling a big list of gift ideas for our friends and family for Christmas.

brown_paper_package_by_dreamstone-d764b8p

image here

A post by Elizabeth of Simple Simon and Company got me thinking.  She asked why we sew.  For me, homemade gifts are not so much about the gift itself, although I try to make something beautiful and useful that will be enjoyed.  While I am making something for someone I spend that time thinking about the person for whom the gift is intended and praying for him or her.  The gift itself is just a representation of the time I spent focusing on the recipient.

That’s not to say that I don’t also enjoy the process of creating (most of the time, anyway…) or that I don’t focus on the recipient when choosing gifts to buy.  But for me the hours I spent making presents and the love I try to put into each one are part of the gift.

Do you make gifts to give?  Why do you do it?

-Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

