On my nightstand… Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

I’m working my way through Liane Moriarty’s addictive canon and my most recent was Big Little Lies, her newest.  

While I didn’t find it quite as engrossing as The Husband’s Secret, I still blew through it faster than anything else I’ve tried so far this year.  Big Little Lies is about the politics among a group of parents at an Austrailian primary school, and while that description would’ve made me run screaming a few years ago, Moriarty’s writing and her great characters drive the plot.  As with all of the books I’ve read of hers, there is an element of mystery: in this case, who died at the school trivia night and why.

She takes on some hard topics (abuse, nature vs. nurture, beauty standards) but doesn’t sacrifice the story in order to make her points.  My biggest complaint about her books in general is that she tends to wrap up her plot a little too neatly at the end, but honestly I secretly kind of like that, too, so I guess it’s not that big of a complaint after all.

A few of my favorite quotes:

“If parents had children who were good sleepers, they assumed this was due to their good parenting, not good luck.” – Liane Moriarty, Big Little Lies

“They say it’s good to let your grudges go, but I don’t know, I’m quite fond of my grudge. I tend it like a little pet.”
― Liane Moriarty, Big Little Lies

And, of course:

“Oh, calamity!” – Liane Morarty, Big Little Lies

4.5/5 stars

What are you reading these days?  I need recommendations.  I have The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton on my shelf but I haven’t quite gotten motivated to pick it up yet.  Is it good?

-Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

