Throwback… Monday? A BIG wedding bow

I was sorting some things out of my desk yesterday and found some pictures that I never shared here of a project I did last year, so I thought I would show them off today.

Last spring a friend of a friend contacted me to ask if I could make a wedding sash for her.  Her dress had come with a bedazzled belt that wasn’t doing it for her and she had in mind a big (think 1980s prom dress-style) bow with long tails to replace it.

scan0001

It is made of poly satin from JoAnn Fabrics and interfaced with some pretty heavy duty home dec interfacing.  The bow is just a large rectangle (about 36″ x 28″ if memory serves) interfaced, folded in half right sides together and sewn into a tube.  I folded it so the raw edges matched and took a scrap of satin about 3″ x 6″ to make the center “pinch”, which I handsewed around the bow.  The tails I just eyeballed and bag lined, then handsewed to the back of the pinch.  The whole thing is attached to a narrow belt, which hooks and eyes closed under the bow.  I had the bride try on her dress with the bow when it was finished and hand-tacked the belt around the bottom of her bodice so it wouldn’t slide around the day of her wedding.

scan0002 She was an absolutely lovely bride, and I was happy to have a small part in her wedding day.  And, when people asked me what I was working on at the time, I got to honestly say I was making a big *ss bow.  🙂

In other news, I finally got some scanner issues sorted out to be able to upload the pattern piece for the wee foxy pouch! Click on the image below to open the PDF.  I haven’t included instructions because I am up to my eyeballs in other projects, but there are plenty of pouch tutorials that you can reference – Google “zippered pouch tutorial”.  Happy sewing!

wpid-20150429_142209.jpg

2 thoughts on “Throwback… Monday? A BIG wedding bow

Leave a Reply

