Sheep!

Those times when you want a weekend from your weekend, right? Thursday night I hosted an essential oils  class at my house, Friday night I led our ladies’ Bible study, Saturday morning I helped host my sister’s bridal shower, and Sunday morning we taught the preschool kids’ church class. And then I melted into the daybed with a book and didn’t move while our kids napped Sunday afternoon.

image

Thanks to kids’ church and my book the theme for Sunday was sheep. We taught the story of the Good Shepherd to the kids and helped them make little sheep finger puppets out of craft foam. We planned on a dozen kids and had 17, so forgive the shoddy gluing job on a couple of those sheep (I am not a neat hot-gluer under pressure), but they turned out pretty cute, I think. Why do googly  eyes make everything better?

image

The book I picked up is the next choice for the Brit Lit book club I help run at the library: Terry Pratchett’s  Wee Free Men. I won’t spoil the story for you, but as you can guess from the cover it’s a fantasy story that centers on a shepherding family.  I finished it last night and I think it’s my new favorite Pratchett.

A taste:

“‘Witches have animals they can talk to, called familiars. Like your toad there.’

‘I’m not familiar,’ said a voice from among the paper flowers. ‘I’m just slightly presumptuous.'”

And one more for good measure:

“Now… if you trust in yourself… and believe in your dreams… and follow your star… you’ll still get beaten by people who spent their time working hard and leaning things and weren’t  so lazy.”

And now I need a new book. What are you reading these days? I am game for almost anything.

-Elizabeth

2 thoughts on “Sheep!

  1. I *love* the Tiffany Aching books. They are easily my favorite Discworld thread (followed very closely by the guards books). While I’m enormously saddened that we’ve lost Terry Pratchett, I’m delighted that he left us one last Tiffany book (scheduled to be released this fall).

    • This was my first Tiffany book, and I will definitely be reading the rest. I didn’t realize there was another coming out this fall! So exciting. I read an interview with Terry Pratchett and he said Wee Free Men was the best book he had written, so apparently he liked Tiffany, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

