Green tomato PSA

Last weekend we cleaned off the garden in preparation for this week’s predicted first frost. As usual, even though the garden was nearly done for the year anyway we ended up with quite a haul of odds and ends.

image

See all of those tomatillos? I made another batch of salsa verde, but I was also up to my eyeballs in green tomatoes (which can be used for salsa verde, too, but I had already made six quarts of salsa verde and more seemed a little excessive).

When I think of overabundance of produce, zucchini is the first thing that comes to mind, so I wondered if there was such a thing as green tomato bread and asked Google. There is.

image

I used this recipe and didn’t change a thing. The bread is lovely- moist and crumbly and just the right amount of sweetness. I think next time I’ll use half brown sugar and half white for a little more caramel taste. There will be a next time, by the way- I have a whole stack of 2 cup portions of chopped green tomatoes sitting in my freezer waiting for the next baking day.

Does anyone else have a stack of green tomatoes begging not to be thrown onto the compost? Or am I the only one who doesn’t have the heart to toss the last of the garden produce?

-Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

