Book review: Sew Organized for the Busy Girl

Ok, so the fact that I am posting this at 7pm instead of 7am as I intended suggests that this is an appropriate book for me, but have you guys come across Heidi Staples’ Sew Organized for the Busy Girl yet?*

image

It came through the library the other day and the cover caught my eye, so I checked it out. I love Heidi’s comment in the introduction: “Whether we like it or not, life is going to be busy… and thus is not necessarily a bad thing. It becomes bad when we let the craziness hijack our lives so completely that we don’t leave any room for the things that bring us joy. We need joy. Life becomes boring and utterly depressing without it.”

She makes a case for why we should make time to sew, then offers tips on creating a sewing space and instructions for  twelve cute sewing projects including a couple of clutches, a doll set, pillows, quilts and a sweet little sewing kit. Her quiz for discovering your “workspace personality” and her organization tips make my wannabe Type A heart happy. (I am a dyed in the wool type B, but I envy my Type A friends their organization if not their anxiety levels.)  My first project will be the Girl Friday sewing case.

The book led me to Heidi’s blog (which is new to me- am I the only one who doesn’t know about Fabric Mutt?), and I love her eye for color and fabric choices.

If you’re in the mood for some sewing inspiration, check out Sew Organized for the Busy Girl and make time for your joy.  Well done, Heidi!

*Note: I was not given a book or compensated in any way for this review, I just like this book and think you might, too!

-Elizabeth

2 thoughts on “Book review: Sew Organized for the Busy Girl

    • I’m the goofball who loves reading books about organization (Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up is one of my favorite books of the year), so this one was right up my alley combining organization with sewing. I hope you like it, too!

Leave a Reply

